About Us

Ngāti Rehua Ngātiwai ki Aotea Trust

The role of the Ngāti Rehua Ngātiwai ki Aotea Trust is to determine the vision and tikanga of the Tū Mai Taonga project.

It arranges and safeguards project funding from the project sponsors and appoints the Project Steering Committee.

You can find out more about the trust here - https://ngatirehua.com/


Project Steering Committee

The Project Steering Committee will approve operational plans based on options identified in a feasibility report and project team advice. It monitors the delivery of project milestones and reports to the Ngāti Rehua Ngātiwai ki Aotea Trust through its kaihautū.

The members of the steering committee are:

• Opo Ngawaka (Chair) - Mana Whenua - NRNWKA Trust

• Matthew Ngawaka - Mana Whenua - Kawa Marae

• Marylin Stevens and Paula Williams (alternative members) - Mana Whenua - Motairehe Marae

• Sue Daly - Community - Nominee

• Izzy Fordham - Community - Local Board

• Kate Waterhouse - Community - Nominee


Project Team

A small project team is helping get the project up and running.

  • Jo Ritchie - Programme Lead 

  • Dave Braddock - Operations and Finance Coordinator

  • Tim Higham - Communications Advisor

  • Makere Jenner - Engagement Advisor


Collaborating agencies

The Tū Mai Taonga project is reliant on the support of many collaborating organisations including:

  • Aotea Great Barrier Island Environmental Trust

  • Aotea Great Barrier Island Local Board

  • Auckland Council

  • Department of Conservation

  • Glenfern and Kotuku Peninsula Trust

  • Kawa Marae

  • Motairehe Marae

  • Motu Kaikoura Trust

  • Okiwi Community Ecology Project

  • Windy Hill Sanctuary and Rosalie Bay Catchment Trust


And landowners and residents around the motu.



The Tū Mai Taonga project will be recruiting a field team in 2022 to help deliver its operational plan. Keep an eye out for vacancies posted on the website.